Prof. Dipti Ranjan Sahoo awarded 2022 S S Bhatnagar Prize for contribution in Structural/Earthquake Engineering


Prof. Dipti Ranjan Sahoo, Department of Civil Engineering, IIT Delhi, has won the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) Prize for Science and Technology 2022 in Engineering Sciences. Prof. Sahoo graduated from IIT Kanpur with an MTech in 2003 and a PhD in 2008. His doctoral thesis on developing an aluminium shear-yielding damper for enhanced earthquake resistance of structures was supervised by Prof. Durgesh C Rai. At IIT Delhi, Prof. Sahoo continued to work on shear-yielding dampers and other structural fuses for seismic design and mitigation of seismic effects on buildings and bridges which won him the prestigious Science and Technology award.

The Prize bears the name of the founder Director of the Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR) India, the late Dr (Sir) Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar. The purpose of the award is to recognize outstanding Indian work in science and technology. The Prize is given to a person who, in the opinion of CSIR, has made conspicuously important and outstanding contributions to human knowledge and progress fundamental and applied in the particular field of endeavour, which is his/her specialization.

Prof. Sahoo's SSB Prize is also noteworthy because Prof. Jai Krishna of the University of Roorkee (regarded as Father of Earthquake Engineering in India) was the last structural/earthquake engineer to receive this award in 1966!


NICEE congratulates Prof Sahoo on this recognition which also benefitted from his contributions to its various activities as a former IIT Kanpur postgraduate student and later as IIT Delhi faculty member.